Tag Archives: A-Villa

A-Villa “Carry On Tradition” [Album Stream]


Adrian “A-Villa” Villagomez earlier this week delivered his labor of love and a project he worked relentlessly on for the last four years to perfect. A-Villa’s first and last project “Carry On Tradition” over exceeds any expectation you may have of ‘traditional Chicago Hip-Hop’ by crafting a brilliant project that encompasses his passion for music and bringing people together as he is able to assemble a fantasy draft like lineup of artists that blends different generations of Hip-Hop artists to a classic album that is now A-Villa’s debut project.

Earlier this week I was able to attend the listening party for “Carry On Tradition” and I can honestly say that the project as a whole is a classic. It is a cohesive project from beginning to end and cinematic in nature as well as we get glimpses of various forms of pop culture blended within this project as we transition from song to song.

This is a project for EVERYBODY. From the heavy conscious Hip-Hop Heads to anyone wanting a basic understanding of the who’s who of older generation emcees and today’s youth that Carry On Tradition. For purists you may also be able to purchase a Vinyl as well as a CD copy that includes a track not available on the iTunes version that features Martin $ky, Chance The Rapper, Michael Christmas, and MC Tree G.

The world has been lending its ears to this project as A-Villa continues to gain support from artists he grew up listening to. For those that still don’t understand, Adrian “A-Villa” Villagomez has been able to accomplish something that most Hip-Hop fans like us are never able to accomplish and that is to be a regular joe, a vice president at a bank by day that and skilled beat maker by night that is pursuing a dream that is now coming to fruition.

Support the homie A-Villa and cop the CD, Vinyl, or iTunes version.



A-Villa “Carry On Tradition Tracklist + Special Letter” [Video]

A-Villa dropped the tracklist, cover art, and a special thanks to artists that formed part of his forthcoming project Carry On Tradition. Villa also dropped a real dope interview via Fakeshore that allows you to learn more about the Chicago producer that is slated to release his project November 4th. Check out the tracklist and special letter from A-Villa below!


1. Pay Homage (Intro)

2. Carry On Tradition f/Rapper Big Pooh & Mikkey Halsted

3. The Warrior, The Philosopher, The Rebel f/Lil’ Fame of M.O.P., Cormega, Killer Mike

4. Live From The Villa f/Action Bronson, Roc Marciano, Willie The Kid

5. Dynamite S.O.U.L. F/Guilty Simpson, Ras Kass, Fashawn, Skyzoo

6. Gunnin’ For The Throne f/Elzhi, Naledge, Freddie Gibbs, Mikkey Halsted, Vic Spencer)

7. Tear It Down f/Blu / A.M.S.M. f/Chaundon & Reks

8. A Hustler’s Soliloquy f/Roc Marciano

9. Pass The Wire f/Noreaga, Kool G Rap, Twone Gabz

10. Mega Trifle f/Joell Ortiz & Scheme

11. The Colosseum f/Big K.R.I.T., Termanology, & Inspectah Deck

12. The Wild Bunch f/Oh No, Roc Marciano, & Sean Price

13. Sucker Free f/Saigon, Jon Connor, Joe Budden, & BJ The Chicago Kid

14. A Day In The Life f/AZ, Havoc, Freeway, Macie Stewart

15. Never Give You Up (One For Ana) f/Rapsody, Guilty Simpson, Villa, & Avalyn Villagomez

A-Villa “The Colosseum” f/ Big KRIT, Termanology & Inspectah Deck

A-Villa continues creating more momentum as he drops another single to the highly anticipated project “Carry On Tradition”. These singles get better after every release as well. The latest single “The Colosseum” is a monstrous track which features BIG KRIT, Termanology, and Inspectah Deck over a phenomenal A-Villa production. As for A-Villa’s Project, that drops very soon. More on A-Villa below.

A-Villa is not an industry cat, or a producer with great connections. He’s a regular guy that had a vision of learning how to make music and collaborating with his favorite rappers, and he fucking did it!  Carry On Tradition is 100% self-produced and features handpicked guests that represents Villa’s musical heroes ranging from Kool G Rap to Action Bronson, N.O.R.E. to Freddie Gibbs, Killer Mike to MC Tree.  

A-Villa “A Day In The Life” f/ AZ, Havoc, Freeway & Macie Stewart

We have been getting phenomenal consistent releases from Chicago beatsmith A-Villa and we get another one to that impressive streak of releases. A-Villa enlists AZ, Havoc (of MOBB Deep), Freeway, and Macie Stewart (member of Marrow, former member of Kids These Days) on “A Day In The Life”. The single will be a part of the anticipated “Carry On Tradition”, A-Villa’s debut project that is well on its way and coming to a blog near you on November 4th!

About “A Day In The Life”
“When I originally made the beat, it was just a main melody loop of strings and keys with some programmed drums over it. Sonically, I was inspired by Raekwon & Ghostface’s song “Heaven & Hell”, but I wanted to make it an introspective record about a hustler’s come up from the street life to the rap game. And as time passed, I kept going back to the beat and adding more elements. I chopped the melody up more, I played live drums over it, and I wrote a hook that I felt required a female vocalist. So I reached out to the best female vocalist I knew, Macie Stewart, formerly of the popular group Kids These Days. She came to the studio, re-worked the hook, and added some beautiful harmonies throughout. I then sent the beat to AZ, who I knew would set off the track in a classic way. He rapped from the perspective of a hustler that survived the game, did it his way, and is now living the good life. That same approach and theme continued on with Havoc of Mobb Deep and Freeway, both of whom added their own personal narrative to a day in the life of a hustler. Lastly, I orchestrated even more live instrumentation into the track with Graham Burris playing some bass guitar and some live horns at the end by Nico “Donnie Trumpet” Segal, also formerly of the group Kids These Days. Overall, the song has an epic and triumphant feel to it. I’m very happy with the way it came out. It’s one of my favorite songs on my album and I hope everyone enjoys it.”