Tag Archives: Darkchild

New Frank Ocean album collab info

It’s not much, but it’s new info on the enigmatic Frank Ocean and his long-awaited, highly-anticipated sophomore album.

Billboard reports that Frank Ocean has been signed to management with Three Six Zero (Calvin Harris, Deadmau5 and Kate Nash) and has logged studio time with Hit-Boy & Darkchild. Whoo! As a fan of both, I’m excited to hear their sounds mesh with Ocean’s (especially given Darkchild’s longtime big-name R&B collabs).

The article also notes Ocean is still working with frequent collaborators Happy Perez, Charlie Gambetta and Kevin Ristro. Needless to say, we’ll be looking forward to the next development…


Ariana Grande ‘My Everything’ [Tracklist]

The sultry starlet Ariana Grande is set to impact this summer with her next album that’ll certainly brighten the already bright star. My Everything is also set to have a lot of hip hop and R&B features: notably Big Sean, Childish Gambino, The Weeknd, and A$AP Ferg, in addition to Iggy Azalea on the #1 hit “Problem”. I’m looking forward to the collabs with Sean, Gambino, and Weeknd the most and you’ll surely see ’em on here advance of the album’s drop date of August 25th.

1. Intro
2. Problem – (Feat. Iggy Azalea)
3. One Last Time
4. Why Try
5. Break Free – (feat. Zedd)
6. Best Mistake – (feat. Big Sean)
7. Be My Baby – (feat. Cashmere Cat)
8. Break Your Heart Right Back – (feat. Childish Gambino)
9. Love Me Harder – (Ariana Grande & The Weeknd)
10. A Little Bit Of Your Heart
11. Hands On Me – (feat. A$AP Ferg)
12. My Everything

Production by: Ryan Tedder, Benny Blanco, Rodney Jerkins, Oak & Pop, and more.

More Michael Jackson albums coming

Looks like we won’t be able to Xscape more Michael Jackson posthumous albums.

See what I did there?

After last month’s Xscape topping only at #2, plans for Michael Jackson albums are still ahead. Reports RollingStone: “…and that’s just the beginning of its ambitious plans for his career, which could include as many as eight more albums culled from outtakes and repackaged material.

Rodney “Darkchild” Jerkins adds there’s “more surprises coming”. Do you think the MJ Estate is doing a disservice by releasing all sorts of unreleased material? I think there’s got to be a balance – eight albums sounds like way too much, but I admit, I’m not at that line yet of saying ‘no’ to more Michael Jackson music. And that’s a testament to Xscape being a fun, solidly executed, nostalgic ride from beginning to end.

Michael Jackson ‘Xscape’ [Album Stream]

Today, Michael Jackson‘s second posthumous album, Xscape, is here.

Now, I understand the skepticism you may have about posthumous tracks and the energy that comes with using unreleased vocals to fabricate songs for profit. That may have come across more on the first MJ posthumous album, Michael, but I can look past that on Xscape because the 8 tracks are in good hands with frequent MJ collaborators Rodney “Darkchild” Jerkins and John McClain at the helm, in addition to a couple of big-time producers in Timbaland and StarGate. The bonus to Xscape is that the deluxe version contains the original versions of all 8 tracks. Those should appeal to any MJ fan no matter your feelings on posthumous albums.

As you run through the album, keep note of my *Tibs Favs. In fact, every preview in the last week earned my approval — the JT-featured “Love Never Felt So Good”, “Chicago”, “Blue Gangsta”, and the title track “Xscape” — and joining that top tier of records is “A Place With No Name”. I particularly love the melody of the hook and the StarGate production grew on me to make that song the one I’ve had on repeat the most this weekend.

In general, the album impressively boasts a Michael Jackson whose rhythms, melodies, and layered vocals (see: “Chicago”) are all on point. These aren’t just throwaway tracks; rather, Xscape is a collection that brings MJ to the forefront and a contemporary yet throwback sound that matches the time period of the recorded vocals (said to be pre-1999). I applaud the efforts from all parties involved and would highly suggest Xscape to even the most skeptical MJ fan. Enjoy!

Michael Jackson “Xscape” (prod. Darkchild)

Chart-topping single alert! Here’s your daily dose of MJ‘s upcoming posthumous album, Xscape, and it’s the upbeat title track produced by longtime collaborator Darkchild. Like the three releases below, I’m diggin’ this one. Just so feel-good. I wouldn’t be surprised if this one gets pushed above the JT collab for mainstream radio. Something to keep your eyes and ears on. Be ahead of the curve below.

*Tibs Fav.

Song since removed.

ICYMI: “Blue Gangsta”“Chicago” | “Love Never Felt So Good” f/ Justin Timberlake