Tag Archives: Dot Da Genius

Kid Cudi MOTM3 in progress…

The Man on the Moon series is officially continuing… Installment number 3 is underway after Cudi, over Twitter, successfully assembled the team like Will Ferrell in Anchorman.

Above is Cud pictured in the studio with Emile today, just one day after receiving confirms from Plain Pat & A-Trak that they’re in to start working on the album. Dot Da Genius, presumably too. I’m trying to remain even-keeled but these people making music together has a high success rate. Keep MOTM3 in the back of your mind as 2015 progresses…


Jhene Aiko “Wading”

Jhene Aiko is looking as good as ever in her new video off a Souled Out fave of mine, “Wading”. The sultry audio gets the matching visual from a revealing Aiko (with a snakey friend), but as she stuns for the first half of the video, there’s also a story that develops into a surprise twist ending. This last third of the video stands it apart even more so stay tuned through to the end. I don’t want to spoil it, but I can’t help but mention that the timing of its release is pretty appropriate from an awareness standpoint with the Bill Cosby controversy continuing to pile up.

Updated with the newly upped uncut version. Produced by her beau, Dot Da Genius.

ALSO: Jhene Aiko is on tour now

Logic f/ Hit-Boy & Audio Push “Everything I Am” (prod. Dot Da Genius)

Here’s a dope contribution to the L.A. Leakers upcoming compilation project, Leaks of the Industry ’14, and it’s the Dot Da Genius produced Logic x HS87 collab “Everything I Am”. The beat itself sets the tone with Jay Z sampled for the hook. All parties involved do their thing on the verses too that this becomes a nice add for any rap fan before the project drops in full with even more collabs.

ICYMI: Logic ‘Under Pressure’ [Album Art]

Jhene Aiko “The Pressure” Jimmy Kimmel Live

The other late night must-see music performance aired on Jimmy Kimmel Live as Jhene Aiko performed her new single “The Pressure” on the day her debut album, Souled Out, dropped in stores. This, I’m sure, makes any artist’s release date even more special especially for the landmark debut album drop. Jhene and her band sooth the crowd with the performance that sounds straight out of the studio and likely impressed the casual viewer who tuned in. You’ll see that Jhene is rockin’ an angelic white skirt and, honestly, it’s not hard to notice on the close-ups… a ring on the left ring finger. Not to get too into it, but Jhene did confirm she has a boyfriend this week and by numerous signs it’s producer Dot Da Genius, of Kid Cudi “Day N Nite” fame. A quick google search and you’ll see that gossip blogs are reporting marriage but it’s not worth believing til they say it themselves.

Now that that’s been addressed, be sure to cop said debut album, Souled Out. Of the non-preview records, I’m especially vibing with “Lyin King”, “Wading”, and just the wonderful philosophic “W.A.Y.S.” — why aren’t you smiling? 🙂

ICYMI: Jhene Aiko with The Breakfast Club in the Monday Roundup

The bottom row of lights look like hearts! <3
The bottom row of lights look like hearts! ❤

Jhene Aiko ‘Souled Out’ Album Stream

You knew it was comin! The full album stream for Jhene Aiko’s Souled Out, available in stores and everywhere in less than a week, September 9th. Souled Out is slim on the vocal features with Common, Cocaine 80s, and Jhene’s daughter and late brother the lone ones. Production is handled by Key Wane, Fisticuffs, James Fauntleroy, Dot Da Genius, and Souled Out is executive produced by No I.D. I’m fans of all of the above and can’t wait to listen/support this week, especially on the heels of the Childish Gambino well-directed visuals for “The Pressure”.

1. Limbo Limbo Limbo
2. W.A.Y.S.
3. To Love & Die (feat. Cocaine 80s)
4. Spotless Mind
5. It’s Cool
6. Lyin King
7. Wading
8. The Pressure
9. Brave
10. Eternal Sunshine
11. Promises (feat. NAMIKO & Miyagi)
12. Pretty Bird (Freestyle) (feat. Common)
13. Remember
14. Blue Dream

Listen to the Jhene Aiko ‘Souled Out’ Album Stream here.