Tag Archives: Nas

Nas & Cam’ron squash beef

The Nas x Cam’ron/Dipset beef began in 2002. For those unaware, this was also at the height of Jay Z & Nas’ beef, with Jay going at Nas on the Hot97 SummerJam stage the year before in 2001. Nas was looking to take it a step further but the station nixed it and Nas ended up not showing up to rhyme at all. Nas’ slot was filled by Dipset and thus began the rift with Nas, who also didn’t make amends with Hot 97 until 2006.

Now it appears it’s all under the bridge as Cam’ron posted this photo with Nas today with the caption “#QB #Harlem #uwasntthere”. True, I wasn’t there. I hope to be there for a studio session though. That’d be cool #flymeout!

(Dude photoboming this is the best.)

Nas announces ‘Illmatic XX’

With Illmatic, I didn’t think about it. I just did it. I believe everybody has good instincts. Now I’m a man from that past and I’m supremely grateful. There’s a Nigerian proverb ‘What is past is prologue’.  I’m here today because of Illmatic.

Big news for Nas fans!

To commemorate 20 years since the release of the game-changing debut album, Illmatic, Nas released a press release today announcing Illmatic XX, “an exclusive collection [that] will feature several rare remixes, unreleased demos and freestyles to commemorate the anniversary.”

In conjunction with the release of the new album, Nas will also drop a new documentary Time Is Illmatic and go on an Illmatic XX tour where he’ll perform the entire album from first track to last. More details on all of this to come.

The two disc tracklist is below and a stream of “It Ain’t Hard To Tell (Stink Mix)” can be heard here on RapGenius.

Tracklisting: Disc 1: Remastered original album

1. The Genesis

2. N.Y. State Of Mind

3. Life’s A Bitch

4. The World Is Yours

5. Halftime

6. Memory Lane (Sittin’ In Da Park)

7. One Love

8. One Time 4 Your Mind

9. Represent

10. It Ain’t Hard To Tell

Disc 2: Demos, Remixes & Live Radio

1. I’m A Villain (previously unreleased)

2. The Stretch Armstrong and Bobbito Show on WKCR October 28, 1993 (previously unreleased freestyle)

3. Halftime (Butcher Remix)

4. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (Remix)(promo single)

5. One Love (LG Main Mix)

6. Life’s A Bitch (Arsenal Mix)(promo single)

7. One Love (One L Main Mix)

8. The World Is Yours (Tip Mix)

9. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (The Stink Mix)(UK single)

10. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (The Laidback Remix)(UK single)

Coachella 2014 lineup announced

Looks like Cali will be the place to be come April. The previously revealed and majorly announced headliner OutKast leads a real nice group of urban artists like Kid Cudi, Pharrell, Chi-Town’s 2013 star Chance The Rapper, Jhene Aiko, and oh yeah, this guy named Nas. A couple more notable Chicago acts include Flosstradamus and Krewella. Who’s on your personal lineup?! Hope you got tickets already!