Tag Archives: Surf

Kanye almost narrated ‘Surf’

This Chance x Kanye collab is happening one way or another… and it almost happened on Surf.

Chance revealed in a new interview with The Guardian that Kanye “was going to narrate it at one point.” He continues, while adding that Kanye got to hear the album “before anyone else” that, “In the final weeks of getting ready to put it out we had vocal chops that we were using from ’Ye talking about some of the themes of the project. Through just thinking about it, it didn’t end up happening that way. Not to say it wouldn’t have been dope as shit!”

Ah… the what ifs? Irregardless, it’ll happen folks, and probably in the form of an actual song that we all want too. If you’re still sleeping, get on the wave of what Surf became..

ALSO: Fresh off the twittersphere, Chance announced the tour dates for the ‘Family Matters’ tour. Surprise guests (and I would bet) a Chicago date TBA.



Chance The Rapper Plans Free Festival

Fact – Chicagoans always give back their city. This statement is true as Chicago rapper Chance the Rapper announces a new free festival Teens in the Park dedicated to Chicago youth. Held at Chicago’s Northerly Island, the festival will feature performances from Donnie Trumpet, frequent collaborator and right hand man for Surf, notorious Chicago emcee DLow, and Donda’s House, Kanye West’s non-profit. Event is open only to those aged 13-24 with the exception of adults accompanying teens.

For more information or registration click below:

FirstMerit Bank Pavilion

Wed, Jun 24, 2015 04:00 PM

Register at Livenation

Donnie Trumpet & The Social Experiment ‘SURF’


Your Thursday night, and by extent, summer is now made thanks to Chance The Rapper, Donnie Trumpet, and The Social Experiment. Chance just put out the long-awaited, highly anticipated, SURFfor free download on iTunes here.

On top of that, Chicago’s own collective brought out a mix of familiar living legends, established stars and a host of buzzing up and comers to make up the features on the 16-track opus. Said legends and stars, classify how you will, include Erykah Badu, Busta Rhymes, Janelle Monae, J. Cole, Big Sean, and B.o.B. Then, more Chicago talent is on display as Jeremih, BJ The Chicago Kid, King Louie, Joey Purps, Eryn Allen Kane, and Noname Gypsy get in on the act for features and C-Sick I saw on the production (with of course, Nico Segal (Trumpet), Peter CottonTale, and the SoX.) Raury, Quavo (of Migos), Jesse Boykins III, KYLE, and D.R.A.M. round out the rest of the jam-packed guest stars.

Ready to dive in? Here’s the tracklist with the features (not labeled on iTunes) and, via 2DB, a stream below for your convenience. Once again, download for free here.

01 “Miracle”
02 “Slip Slide” f/ B.o.B, BJ The Chicago Kid, Busta Rhymes & Janelle Monáe
03 “Warm Enough” f/ J. Cole & Noname Gypsy
04 “Nothing Came to Me”
05 “Wanna Be Cool” f/ Jeremih, Big Sean & KYLE
06 “Windows” f/ BJ The Chicago Kid & Raury
07 “Caretaker” f/ D.R.A.M.
08 “Just Wait”
09 “Familiar” f/ Quavo & King Louie
10 “SmthnthtIwnt”
11 “Go” f/ Joey Purps & Jesse Boykins III
12 “Questions”
13 “Something Came to Me”
14 “Rememory” f/ Erykah Badu
15 “Sunday Candy”
16 “Pass the Vibes”


The SoX

Donnie Trumpet & SoX “Sunday Candy”

Here is the first offering of Surf — Chance and his Social Experiment collective’s new album supposed to drop before the end of the year. It’s called “Sunday Candy”, which has a couple new verses from Chance and features singer Jamila Woods. Donnie Trumpet is credited with the lead as he puts down a nice feel to the record with the help of Peter CottonTale & Nate Fox. Here’s what Donnie said to FADER:

This song specifically is a great representation of [The Social Experiment’s] collaborative efforts. It’s my curation, but then bringing it to the table with all these beautiful people and including them in their own way. Jamila sang on that hook, then I brought it to the collective. Peter added some great layers of texture and helped produce, Nate added a bunch of drums, tons of our friends from Chicago played instruments and added their ideas.

Stream below — a nice soulful feel to it and perfect for the fam with the holidays on deck.

Chance announces new album ‘Surf’

Big news today as Chance has announced plans for a new, FREE album with The Social Experiment entitled Surf that they intend to release before the end of the year. If that’s not exciting enough, Chance has collabs lined up with Frank Ocean, J. Cole, and Migos.

As revealed to Billboard:

On Surf: “We’re working really closely with Francis Starlite from Francis and the Lights. He’s been a really been a big help on Surf. Damn, I’m saying these things like people know it. Surf is the first project, which is coming out before the end of 2014. It’s the first Social Experiment project. It’s a big step for all of us all putting our heads together and letting Nico [Segal, a.k.a Donnie Trumpet] hold the reigns and carry it. There’s a lot of great instrumentation. A lot of input from cool writers. I’m already saying too much.”

On who else he’s working with: “Well, we worked with Migos. We worked with J. Cole. We did some work with Emily King just last week. Somebody who helped us out a lot with just getting into the project was Rick Rubin. And Frank Ocean. There’s been a lot of just people in the studio watching us work almost like a house band. People come in just to watch us jam out.”

On what else he’s working on: “We have an idea for what we want to do next year following [the release] of Surf and [another project entitled] SOX and everything else that is to come. We’ve been really, really focused on The Lion King musical and stage design and use of props in the theater setting and trying to make a very cool musical-kinda thing. Like musical theater. So we’re working on that. It’s still in the development process. I’m really excited; the band’s really excited.”

ICYMI: Chance The Rapper “No Better Blues”