Tag Archives: Tetsuo & Youth

Lupe Fiasco “Adoration of the Magi” f/ Crystal Torres

The pre-orders are available now and Tetsuo & Youth is only a couple weeks away from full release on January 20th.

“Adoration of the Magi” is Lupe’s 3rd preview of the album (following “Deliver” & “Madonna”) and it keeps the good vibes going. DJ Dahi produces and provides a chill, somewhat jazzy background with Lu to go over people’s heads again. 3rd verse brings some things together and I’m diggin’ the diction and delivery on this section specifically and throughout. Crystal Torres features as well, but for me it’s Lupe that’s the highlight.

Don’t expect a banger for repeat status, but do expect another nice track for your rotation as Lu goes 3 for 3 with a song that you can tell really resonates from within. (i.e. NO signs of label-controlled, force-fed collabs and at this point, I’d be surprised if there were some like that come Jan 20th.)

*Tibs Fav.


ICYMI: My personal anecdotes and reflections on Lupe Fiasco’s The Cool 7-year anniversary


Lupe Fiasco “Deliver”

#TetsuoSeason continues with the all-new video for lead single “Deliver” off Tetsuo & Youth.

Lupe brings to life the literal and the metaphors of the lyrics for the video, leading to a powerful ending made possible by a dramatically developed story before it. Ty Dolla $ign is featured on one of my favorite tracks to drop this Fall. Easy must-watch above.

*Tibs Fav.

ICYMI: Lupe Fiasco f/ Nikki Jean “Madonna (And Other Mothers In The Hood)”

Lupe Fiasco f/ Nikki Jean “Madonna (And Other Mothers In The Hood)”

Lupe Fiasco’s Tetsuo & Youth will definitely find your way to your speakers on January 20th, 2015 as today, the iTunes pre-orders are available and accompanied by the newest preview of the album — “Madonna (And Other Mothers In The Hood)”.

The engaging song title should reel you in, if not the “featuring Nikki Jean” part too. Instant vibes as I digest the substance behind Lu’s verses, nod my head to a darker sounding chorus than usual for Nikki Jean (killed it), and appreciate the production from DJ Dahi (the drum kicks are subtle and key, listen at high volume with headphones.)

Tetsuo & Youth is off to an excellent start. Look for the “Deliver” video tomorrow and even these collabs in 2015…

*Tibs Fav.


ICYMI: Tetsuo & Youth [Tracklist]

Lupe Fiasco ‘Tetsuo & Youth’ (Tracklist)

Lupe Fiasco’s Tetsuo & Youth is set to arrive next month (yup, now next month technically!) on January 20th, 2015. Today it feels a little more real as Lupe reveals a sweet, artistic cover art above (emphasis on artistic) and the 16 track titles and features below.

1. Summer
2. Mural
3. Blur My Hands (ft. Guy Sebastian)
4. Dots & Lines
5. Fall
6. Prisoner 1 & 2 (Feat. Ayesha Jaco)
7. Body Of Work (ft. Troi & Terrance Martin)
8. Little Death (ft. Nikki Jean)
9. No Scratches (ft. Nikki Jean)
10. Winter
11. Chopper (ft. Billy Blue, Buk Of Psychodrama, Trouble, Trae Tha Truth, Fam Lay & Glasses Malone)
12. Deliver
13. Madonna (And Other Mothers In The Hood) (ft. Nikki Jean)
14. Adoration Of The Magi (ft. Crystal Torres)
15. They.Resurrect.Over.New (ft. Ab-Soul & Troi)
16. Spring

Yup, that’s Nicki Jean on three (!) new tracks. Looks like “Chopper” will be one big rap track. And I got my eye on “Blur My Hands” as a possible single with Lu tweeting excitement in studio sessions this past year with Guy Sebastian, singer of their poppin’ “Battle Scars” single in 2012. For now, Lupe is 1 for 1 with “Deliver” as we’ll surely hear some more previews as the calendar turns to 2015.

B3yr1j1CAAE0fbAICYMI: Lupe Fiasco & TokiMonsta “Superstar (Remix)” [Video]


Lupe Fiasco ‘Tetsuo & Youth’ release date

Above: Lupe @ AAHH Fest! (Photo: Maksim)

UPDATE: Here’s the first track off Lost in the Atlantic — the mini-project that will precede Tetsuo & Youth.

Well, surprise surprise… and a pleasant one at that. Atlantic Records surprised announced tonight a release date for Tetsuo & Youth just merely 24 hours after Lupe surprise released an upcoming mini-project titled Lost In The Atlantic (yes, a double meaning jab at his label).


To put a twist on the story, the release date announcement by Atlantic today may have been caused by the internet hacker group, Anonymous. I, ironically, don’t know much about the group, but they posted this statement shortly after the tweet came out, claiming responsibility for the news after issuing the ultimatum 24 hours ago. For whatever it’s worth, Anonymous also has Trey Songz on board, apparently too. /investigates more into @TheAnonMessage

Citizens of the World and lovers of conscious music,
We are Anonymous.

24 hours ago we released a short Twitter ultimatum. We called upon record label Atlantic Records, responsible for releasing conscious rap artist Lupe Fiasco’s long awaited Album. We demanded a statement from the label within 24 hours to release a date or we would unleash the complete and utter fury of our collective on their company and executives. 21 hours later they released a short Tweet citing the album and it’s release date.

At this time it can be concluded that we have proved our point. We wish music that is educating the masses to keep being released. We will fight for that. Lupe Fiasco, Talib Kweli, Mos Def, Common and others are the moving force behind conscious rap. This is music we will fight for.

Operation Atlantic, Operation Free Lupe; disengaged.
Mission Accomplished.

We are Anonymous.
Never cease to expect us.